About ORWA 2017-02-18T20:15:01+00:00

About Us

The Ottawa Romance Writers Association (ORWA) was the first international affiliated chapter of Romance Writers of America, created in 1985 with Jo Beverley as a founding member. We are a nonprofit organization.

ORWA is a small but ambitious group of genre fiction writers, from beginners to published. We currently have approximately 35 members, including USA Today and NY Times bestselling authors, and associate members who write other than romance.

We’re always looking for new members and collaboratively support all ORWAns on their journeys to become traditionally- or self-published.

Our Leadership

2016 Executive

  • Christine Enta — President
  • Lucy Farago — Vice President
  • Anne Lange — Treasurer
  • Colantha Welker — Secretary
  • Maureen Fisher — Past President


  • Amanda Rosko – Registrar
  • Teresa Morgan – Chair, Workshop Committee
  • Johanne Grenier – LoveKnot Editor
  • Ashlyn Macnamara – Webmistress

Our Beginnings

The Ottawa Romance Writers’ Association (ORWA) was founded by a dedicated group of romance writers in 1985, including published authors Jo Beverley, Audrey Jessup (its first President), Claire Harrison, and Dinah Shields. In the 1980s, many members didn’t have computers and the Internet was not the prevalent form of communication that it is today. ORWA’s monthly meetings provided important contact and support to members, nurturing and encouraging their writing pursuits. In 1996, ORWA’s members voted to affiliate with the Romance Writers of America (RWA).